OCI Board Members 2010

Click here to view an archived version of the original document

In 2010, the OCI board was composed of three people.


The OCI mission statement in 2010: Oregon Cartoon Institute uses new media, archival film, research, networking, and cross disciplinary discussion to explore Oregon film, animation, and print cartooning history.

Anne Richardson, director

Oregon Cartoon Institute’s emphasis on artists as educators comes directly from Anne Richardson having witnessed Milos Forman use artists as educators at Columbia University School of the Arts’ Film Division where she received her MFA. She has taught at Portland State University, Linfield College, and Northwest Film Center.


Dennis Nyback, film archivist

Dennis Nyback began collecting rare 16mm film shorts as an undergraduate at University of Washington. Films from the Nyback Collection inform Oregon Cartoon Institute’s research process, and have been shared with audiences in public history/arts education events from the Mel Blanc Project to Harry Smith PDX to Mid Century Oregon Genius.

Sheldon Renan, advisor

Sheldon Renan gave his first oral history to Oregon Cartoon Institute in 2012, and has been a guide and mentor ever since. Sheldon is the author of An Introduction to the American Underground Film, the founder of Pacific Film Archive (now BAMPFA) in Berkeley, and the architect of the 1970 NEA initiative responsible for funding NWFC.


Valued colleagues

Artists Bill Plympton, James Ivory, Matt Groening, Will Vinton, Joe Sacco, David Chelsea; producers Mike Richardson, David Cress; historians Carl Abbott, Robert Johnston; local historians Ben Truwe, Gus Frederick; family historians Richard Blue, Lisa Groening, Walt Dimick, Gretchen Harmon; archivists Elizabeth Peterson, Libby Burke, Rich Wandschneider; scholars Ben Saunders, Susan Kirtley; film preservationists Gary Lacher, Michele Kribs; advocates of making best use of Oregon film history as a cultural and economic resource Tim Williams, Mac Burns, Bill Failing; businessmen Jim Kelly, Ross Lienhart.